The Epson Award Winners


Fushion’s first day reveal the winners of the Epson Awards 2019.

Fushion festival kicked off yesterday, on Wednesday the 28th of August, where Michael Olestad and Rolf Ekroth were awarded the Epson Award 2019 at Costume’s party at Youngs. The two innovative designers will be given the opportunity to use the new digital printing technology and materials to produce their next two collections for AW20 and SS21.

foto: Costume Magazine

foto: Costume Magazine

The Epson Award wish to contribute to fashion designers with the intention of using technology to develop their designs, in addition to focusing on a more sustainable approach by waste reduction and keeping a local production.

The Norwegian designer Michael Olestad has an art and design degree from London college of Fashion in addition to a bachelor’s degree in fashion from Middlesex university. Olestad has already showcased six collections where his signature style is draped silhouettes and a characteristic use of colours. He has also previously been awarded the Bik Bok award for his work. He says: “I am truly grateful. This award opens up to new possibilities where I can explore parts of my collection that I want to develop further. It is truly amazing to be a part of this.” 

foto: Getty Images

foto: Getty Images

Ekroth is a Finnish designer focusing on sportswear. During his time studying at Aalto University he has won awards such as Designers Nest Competition, Young Designers of the Year as well as he has made a capsule collection for Galeries Lafayette. Ekroth has already scheduled to show his next collection in Milan in January 2020, which will be his first runway show, and says: “This means everything to me, and comes at a perfect time in my career. This prize will open doors to me, and I am very excited for this collaboration with Epson.”

foto:  Rolf Ekroth SS20

foto: Rolf Ekroth SS20

The jury consisted of Epson Europe’s Market Development Manager Heather Kendle as well as their PR & Marketing Manager Solfrid Dyrrdal Liland, Costume’s Editor in Chief Kine Hartz Bjerke, V mag’s Deputy Editor Mathias Rosenzweig, Designer Julie L. Parisi and artist Maria Brich.

We congratulate both of the winners and are very excited to see their upcoming collections!

Ditte Kristensen